This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Romantic Interpretations of Bach's Organ Music

This post is inspired by postings on "The Well-Tempered Clavier on organ," which I have been enjoying. I am not posting there, because it might seem like I am going a bit to far off topic.

When I was a student, the organ world was invigorated by exposure to the old organs of Europe, the Werkprinzip, and the
    Orgelbewegung or Organ Reform Movement. My college organ professor drank the Kool-Aid and exposed his students to a rather limited repertoire of German Baroque and 20th century pieces, by composers like Helmut Walcha. He thought Brahms was OK, but generally eschewed anything Romantic or French. We were taught the "correct" tempos and performance practices, at least as understood at the time. This era was clearly a pendulum swing away from Romanticism.

One day I was practicing "Es ist das Heil" from the Orgelbuchlein. I was playing from Albert Riemenschneider's edition, which lists tempo suggestions from other editions. Barenreiiter suggested a tempo of 72 for the quarter note. Guilmant suggested 72 for the eighth note! I checked my own tempo and I was playing it at Barenreiter's speed. I decided it would befun to play it at the Guilmant tempo. As soon as I did this, I realized that I needed to change the registration. I took off all the higher pitches and used most of the 8' flues. I then decided that the tempo should have a bit of elasticity.