X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Novice practice technique

Hello all

I'm an adult organ student just starting my 4th year of private study (career is far from music-related, so this is purely a hobby that I wish I had more time for). Most times when I approach a new work, I give it a cursory play-through, one hand at a time, then begin tackling it one phrase at a time at a VERY slow tempo. Once I'm more secure with one section, I move on to the next. I wonder if this is the most efficient way to learn - or would tackling the whole piece at a glacial tempo be of greater benefit? And when I say piece of music, it's nothing longer than one of the little P&Fs. Eager to hear your thoughts...

Many thanks,
    Andy

I've always been instructed to learn each part separately, then combine the hands and finally add in the pedals. What does your teacher recommend?

A technique I just heard about from a YT video of an organ department faculty member giving a seminar was to learn the piece starting at the end, moving backwards one measure at a time once you have mastered a new measure individually. So you master the last measure, then add in the one previous to that once you have learned it, etc., always playing through all of the measures you have learned so far. Sounds like an interesting psychological approach. I plan to try it after the holidays.
    Larry is my name; Allen is an organ brand. Allen RMWTHEA.3 with RMI Electra-Piano; Allen 423-C+Gyro; Britson Opus OEM38; Steinway AR Duo-Art 7' grand piano, Mills Violano Virtuoso with MIDI; Hammond 9812H with roll player; Roland E-200; Mason&Hamlin AR Ampico grand piano, Allen ADC-5300-D with MIDI, Allen MADC-2110.

Comment