This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hymns and Modulations

That brings up another point. I prefer crash modulations which repeat the last line and make a quick key change. Doesn't give the congregation time to worry about what is happening or makes the organist look like he or she is doing a private concert.

Re: Hymns and Modulations

I prefer crash modulations which repeat the last line and make a quick key change.

Yep, all you have to do is turn that transposer knob. :-D

Comment

Transposer knob? -- not me!

Comment

No way will I use a transposer. Absolutely not! I prefer to play onywhere from one to a few chords to make a modulation. Remember the pivot chord when you took Harmony 101? My Harmony teacher told us that church organists modulate too fast. Some modulations are too shocking.

Comment

I'm new to all this. What exactly is a modulation? Is that when a hymn is finished and the organist does a brief little ending type thing?

Comment

A modulation is the harmonic transition from one key to another.

Comment

Ohh, I see.

Comment