This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Playing Hynms

Can somebody help please ? I have been playing the organ for many years, but have never played hynms before. A few days ago I was looking through items in a secondhand/junk shop, Amongst piles of old sheet music I came across an organists sized copy of "Hynms Ancient & Modern", which I purchased. Most of the hymns are written in four parts, which I understand is usual..

My query is how exacrly do I play it, or more precisely,what do I play on the pedals? I can play the four parts on one keyboard by playing the bass and tenor parts with my left hand, and the alto and treble parts with my right, as you would on a piano. So what do I play on the pedals? Do I just double the bass part? Or should I play the bass part on the pedals and the upper three parts on the keyboard. I am sure there many who subscribe to this website, who have been playing hymns for years. I'd be much obliged for any guidance in this matter.

Regards

Salicet.

As a church organist myself, I normally play the alto and soprano with the right hand, tenor with the left and bass with the feet. For variety I play the odd verse without pedals in which case I take the tenor and bass with the left hand. There is no need to double the bass if playing with pedals as the manual to pedal coupler will be doing that anyway.

Best Wishes,
    Fettler

Comment

For accentuating the melody, it is possible to play the soprano in the right hand, the alto/tenor in the left, and the bass note on the pedals.

Comment

Originally posted by OrgansR4Me View Post
        For accentuating the melody, it is possible to play the soprano in the right hand, the alto/tenor in the left, and the bass note on the pedals.
        Yes, and in this case, to highlight the melody, it would be played on it's own manual, with a distinctive registration - something that sets it apart from the accompaniment. A great skill to have!

Comment