This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed - How To Find and Use a Lectionary

I need a primer, a "talk to me like I'm a 6th grader" introduction to the lectionary and to planning choir anthems for the church year.

I am in my first job as organist/director at a United Methodist Church and, having grown up Jewish, am pretty clueless about this stuff.

I have a doctoral degree in choral conducting, so Christian liturgy isn't new to me, and my wife was raised in the Episcopal church. The idea, however, of picking out anthems specific to each Sunday or at least to the general season of the Church year is.

The pastor picks the hymns so I don't have to worry about that.

The church has quite a collection of choral music in file cabinets. I will be using that music and not buying new, I've been told, simply because there is no budget for new.

I started on July 1 and the summer has been easy - no choir, and the services have been in the multi-purpose room with a piano, an instrument on which I'm much more comfortable. September through June is a little more complicated. The choir apparently is small enough that it only sings every few weeks because often there aren't enough people, but I think I need to have an anthem in mind for every week. (I am hoping that what I'm able to offer will encourage an increase in the choir's size as well as an improvement in the choir members' attendance.)

Here are my questions, and I'd appreciate hearing what other questions I ought to be asking but don't even know to ask, as well as any answers you've got for me.

1. Is a lectionary specific to a denomination, e.g., UMC, or is it specific to Protestantism in general, or to any Christian worship that follows the Gregorian calendar?

2. Is there an online version of a lectionary that I could use? Is it free? Is a print version preferable and, if so, it is available for purchase online?