This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hymns in a Too-High Key

We are singing "Sweet, Sweet Spirit" in my UM church this Sunday.

It's in the UMC hymnal in G major.

A couple of recordings I've listened to do it in F major, which is better for unison/congregation.

I have perfect pitch - I am simply unable to use the transpose feature of our electronic organ, and thus I'm considering putting the piece into my music notation Software, Sibelius 4, and printing it out for myself in F major.

1. Anyone else do similar, or do you just use the transpose feature of your organ?

2. What are the copyright issues if I wanted to do more of this and make it available, for free, to people on this forum?

3. I know it's slow, and I just tried playing it in F, and I can do that, but this is an ongoing issue for me, and this is my first year as a church organist, and for busier hymns that I've never heard before, playing it in another key isn't going to be a practical option.

Thanks in advance.

-S-

Hmmm. In G major, SSS starts on the 'B' below "Middle C" right? That's about as low a note as you would want to see in a unison melody. Now you want to take that a whole step lower? Are these recordings in 'F' vocal ones? G is the key we do it in, and about the only key I have ever seen or heard it in, and it is about as good a compromise key as you are going to find for a melody that has such a wide disparity between the tessitura of the verse section vs the tessitura of the refrain. Untrained melody voices should be able to reach 'G' just above the staff, and SSS doesn't go above 'E' I believe.