Ebay Classic organs

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why does one organist produce a thicker sound than another on the same organ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why does one organist produce a thicker sound than another on the same organ?

On my church, there are 2 organists that play at different masses. They're both very good to my ears (though I'm no musician) but one noticeable different between the two is that one organist produces a thick sound while the other produces a thinner sound. And I'm always confused why because they're playing the exact same organ.

Here are the 2 videos of both organists. Both are playing the same hymn except one is being sung in English while the other is in Spanish.

First Organist (this one produces a thinner sound)- skip to 2:39 to hear him play.
    https://www.facebook.com/stsebastian...3208747451205/

Second Organist (this one produces a thicker sound)- skip to 5:12 to hear him play the same hymn as the first organist above
    https://www.facebook.com/stsebastian...0339239798393/

So why does the second organist sound thicker? Is he using different stops? Is he using more pedals? Is he using more keys?

Same keys different stops. The first sounds like the full plenum (diapasons 8', 4', 2', etc.) with mixture. The second sounds like just 8' stops (probably a diapason and a reed, maybe more).
    Sam
    Home: Allen ADC-4500 Church: Allen MDS-5
    Files: Allen Tone Card (TC) Database, TC Info, TC Converter, TC Mixer, ADC TC SF2, and MOS TC SF2, ADC TC Cad/Rvt, MOS TC Cad/Rvt, Organ Database, Music Library, etc. PM for unlinked files.

Comment

So is the first organist better since he is using more stops?

Comment

• regeron
        regeron commented
        Editing a comment