Forum Top Banner Ad

Collapse

Ebay Classic organs

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Forthcoming CD recording - which organ would you recommend?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forthcoming CD recording - which organ would you recommend?

First of all, I'm a composer, not an organist, but I hope this forum will assist me with my enquiry.

A piece of mine for organ and orchestra, Gwylmabsant, has been performed and broadcast several times (most recently on Radio 3). I'm now compiling a commercial CD of orchestral works and would like to include this piece on it. As is the case so often, the organ will have to be recorded separately from the orchestra and mixed in later, so I have a more or less free choice as to which organ to select for the job.

However, it would be best if it were in London or its environs, and the organist's first choice - St John's Smith Square - is not really ideal because a) the venue is extremely expensive to hire, b) it will be closed for a large part of the summer for building work.

The short (6 minute) piece is a kind of celebratory overture, and is more showy than subtle, and an exultantly loud sound is required at the end! If you have any recommendations, I'd be most glad to receive them so that I might make further enquiries.

Thanks,

Gareth Glyn.

Re: Forthcoming CD recording - which organ would you recommend?

[quote user="Gareth Glyn"]As is the case so often, the organ will have to be recorded separately from the orchestra and mixed in later, so I have a more or less free choice as to which organ to select for the job.[/quote]

First off, thanks for adding to the contemporary organ literature. I'm sure there will be specific suggestions, but my general suggestion would be to try and match the hall to the one in which the orchestra was recorded. You can realistically mix volumes, but the reverb times and ambience of the halls may be harder.