This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wind Chest Questions...

Hello! I'm relatively new to the forum, so please feel free to direct me to the proper thread if my dilemma has previously been mentioned and solved by another user - although my relatively thorough search of the forum and the internet itself has turned up no answers. I'm sure that this is just the first post of what will be several seeking your advice!

I am in the process of updating and installing a small pipe organ that someone graciously donated to my church for our chapel. Please keep in mind that I am not a professional organ builder - in fact this is my first project of this nature. While not a skilled professional, I do have the technical knowledge needed to disassemble and reassemble the instrument, and can do most repair work myself.

The organ has a Stopped Flute rank of 97 pipes, an Open Diapason rank of 73 pipes, and a String rank of 73 pipes. An additional rank of 61 notes (a Vox Humana) came with the organ, but was never installed, and has no accompanying wind chest - just the pipes. While I would like to install that rank, it is not a priority at this time. The organ came with 2 offset chests (I believe this is the correct term) - one chest for the lowest of the stopped flutes, and the other for the lowest notes of the diapason and string ranks. The main chest is divided properly for the remaining pipes of the 3 ranks. While I didn't take an exact measurement, I believe each of these chests to be at least 6 to 7 feet long.