This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1836 E. & G.G. Hook (Opus 26) - Not just another tracker

I thought it would be interesting to start a thread about the organ I play at Church each Sunday. I have been doing some reading on the forum, and I wanted to share some of this instruments rare and interesting features. I don't know how many other organs share the particular features that make this organ different from most, but I would be interested to hear about them.

For those of you who did not see my introductory post to this forum, here is an overall shot of the organ in question (swiped from the OHS database).

Here are the specs. Please forgive me if I don't get the terminology absolutely correct. I am still new to the Organ (zero lessons, and only playing for about 7 1/2 months). The footage numbers are not noted on the stops, so I don't know them, but they are listed on the OHS database, so I have copied those in here.

3 divisions - Pedal / Great / Swell
    14 ranks
    17 stops
    3 couplers
    Keyboard Compass 70 (G0 to F6, no G#0)
    Pedal Compass 27 (C1 to D3)

Slider chests
    Mechanical key action, Mechanical stop action.
    Drawknobs in vertical rows on flat jambs
    No combination action
    Trigger/Hitch-down Swell pedal (right side of pedal board)
    Machine Stop pedal to withdraw Great Principal, Twelfth, and fifteenth divisions (left side of pedal board)
    Both manuals are divided at F#2/G2
    Pedal board is straight and flat

Stops are listed in order they occur at the console, from top to bottom.

Swell - Stop name (footage): Compass

Stop Diapason Bass (8'): G0 - F#2 (same rank as Stop Diapason lw)
    Principal Bass (4'): G0 - F#2 (same rank as Principal lw)
    Hautboy (8'): G2 - F6
    Viol Da Gamba (8'): G2 - F6
    Stop Diapason Treble (8'): G2 - F6
    Principal Treble (4'): G2 - F6
    Open Diapason (8'): G2 - F6

Great - Stop name: Stop compass

Flute (4'): C1 - F6
    Cremona (8'): G0 - F6