This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning on Nord C2D + pedalboard 27

I am new to playing church organ. I have access to a church two evenings per week. I would like a practice instrument and have been looking around for solutions. I am asking for opinions on the Nord pedalboard to practice on.

I would like a moveable solution that can be stashed away if we have guests. I will place the organ in the living room next to the stereo. Those constraints rules out the big ready made johannus, viscount etc

One option is to build a system with MIDI components. I have read several threads on this topic with pros and cons. The costs adds up with quality components such as a good keyboard, a good pedalboard and a good height adjustable broad bench.

Another option is to buy a Nord setup with C2D, pedalboard 27, keyboard and music stand. I have tried the C2D and although I liked the Nord Electro 5 keys more, I think it is an OK keyboard that I could learn to live with. The baroque organ is also OK, I did not understand how to try all the, according to documentation, sampled sounds but the ones I did try was likeable. I am mainly interested in baroque church music and, if I go the Nord route, I would probably explore the rest of the instruments features.

The one thing I have not tried is the pedalboard which no shop seems to have in stock. I like that it does not require a huge bench, instead you can sit in front of the pedalboard. The pedals seems to be a few mm broader than my church's organ and the spacing betweeen two pedals seems to differ a few mm.

Is there any church musician in the forum that can recommend the Nord 27 pedalboard for practicing?