Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A couple of questions re registration. Also, anyone ever played the organ part for Sweeney Todd?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A couple of questions re registration. Also, anyone ever played the organ part for Sweeney Todd?

Hi all,

Ok, I freely admit, I'm not an organist I'm a synth programmer and I've been asked to "recreate" some organ registrations for a production of the show "Sweeney Todd" at the Opera House in Covent Garden. I have a huge personal collection of organ stop samples which I have collected and recorded over the last few years, and I intend to load those into my keyboard.

Looking at the organ part for Todd there are some markings that confuse me! If the parts says "couplers on", does that mean the U and L manuals are connected (so if one is played, the other plays too)?

And then there is the "rotaries" marking. Would this be the equivalent of Tremulant?

Finally, there is a marking for the pedals: 16,8,16,8 - I could understand 16+8, but not repeated.

Can anyone help?

Many thanks,

Martin Hughes

Re: A couple of questions re registration. Also, anyone ever played the organ part for Sweeney Todd?

Unless there is some additional information the score, I don't think there are any definitive answers to your questions.

Organs have both intramanual and intermanual couplers, so the "couplers on" notation could mean that one or more manuals are coupled to and will play from a single one, but it could also mean that the voices on the given manual are to sound at additional pitches.

My guess would be that "rotaries" refer to Leslie speakers and yes, that would indicate tremulant.

Don't know about the pedal markings. Could mean that 16' and 8' pitches are coupled to the pedal?

Comment

Re: A couple of questions re registration. Also, anyone ever played the organ part for Sweeney Todd?

Hi Martin,