This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Organ tuning

Hi there. I was just wondering when you tune a pipe organ, I asumecyoubtunecthe prestant or others call it diapason first to serve as basis for other voices. Do you also tune using 4ths wider and 5ths narrower to set up temperament octave like a piano tuner would do?

Originally posted by Johnallen View Post
    Hi there. I was just wondering when you tune a pipe organ, I asumecyoubtunecthe prestant or others call it diapason first to serve as basis for other voices. Do you also tune using 4ths wider and 5ths narrower to set up temperament octave like a piano tuner would do?
    John,

I'm not an expert by any means, but wouldn't tuning to 10ths allow slower beating, thereby more accurate tuning? I realize you're talking about the temperament octave only, but curious minds.... Also, if I recall correctly, some organs are designed to tune to the 4' Octave (or 4' Prestant), while others tune to the 8' Diapason. Perhaps there's a way to determine which is which?

Hope this helps rather than creates more questions.

Michael
    Way too many organs to list, but I do have 5 Allens:
    • MOS-2 Model 505-B / ADC-4300-DK / ADC-5400 / ADC-6000 (Symphony) / ADC-8000DKC
    • Lowrey Heritage (DSO-1)
    • 11 Pump Organs, 1 Pipe Organ & 7 Pianos

Comment

Generally the pipe organ is tuned from the main 4' octave from the main division. First find the contract or the documentation for the instrument and see what temperament is listed and the concert pitch that is listed (Check documentation or contact the builder).

When you have, tune accordingly to the documentation your tuning stop then, Tune the rest to the tuning stop.
      Instruments:
      22/8 Button accordion.

Comment