X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here with recently-acquired Mason & Hamlyn Style442

Evening all,

I have recently acquired a Mason & Hamlyn "parlour" style organ which I have taken on as a project with the intentions of getting it going again.

The organ has been left for many years in a derelict manor house (I am in the UK) which has recently been transformed by its new owners who decided the organ didn't fit in with their new decor.
    When I heard they wanted to get rid of it, I had to save it!

I have since started dismantling parts of it in preperation for restoration.
    The ornate "crown" and music stand was the first thing to be removed, halving the size of the instrument!
    The top was then removed followed by the stop board and action, the keyboard cover, and the keys themselves.

I have now got as far as the coupling rods and have no idea how to tackle removing them.
    Of course, they are gunked up with dust, decaying felt and a little rusty in places, and I have no idea where to start with removing them.
    One end of each rod is hooked into the wood, and the other end is clamped by some sort of tiny wooden blocks which appear to be tapped into the frame.

How do I go about getting the rods out for cleaning?

I have removed the whole mechanism from the organ.

Could you supply some photos and the name of the organ which would help us see what you are dealing with. Look forward to seeing your project. Take care.

Comment

Here's my photo page on rebuilding one type of M&H coupler (used by other brands as well) that uses the tin clips lined with felt bushings:
      http://s82.photobucket.com/user/Somb...?sort=3&page=1

Here is the other type of mounting, using wood bearing blocks lined with felt; these come apart by removing the screws:
      Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC03708.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	150.8 KB
ID:	591725